Waltzing Matilda by A.B. (Banjo) Paterson

Standard

Oh there once was a swagman camped by a billabong,

Under the shade of a coolibah tree;

And he sang as he looked at his old billy boiling,

‘Who’ll come a-waltzing Matilda with me?’

 

Who’ll come a-waltzing Matilda, my darling.

Who’ll come a-waltzing Matilda with me?

Waltzing Matilda and leading a water-bag –

Who’ll come a-waltzing Matilda with me?

 

Down came a jumbuck to drink at the water-hole,

Up jumped the swagman and grabbed him in glee;

And he sang as he stowed him away in his tucker-bag.

‘You’ll come a-waltzing Matilda with me!’

 

Down came the squatter a-riding his thoroughbred;

Down came policemen – one, two, and three.

‘Whose is the jumbuck you’ve got in the tucker-bag?

You’ll come a-waltzing Matilda with me.’

 

But the swagman, he up and he jumped in the water-hole,

Drowning himself by the coolibah tree;

And his ghost may be heard as it sings in the billabong

‘Who’ll come a-waltzing Matilda with me?’

 

Comments are closed.